---
title: "Manage Users and User Roles"
canonical: "https://hub.freewheel.tv/space/OS/113999906/Manage%20Users%20and%20User%20Roles"
format: markdown
---
Manage Users Open a User Record To open a User record, you must have the  View User Management  permission. View more information about a specific user by opening their User record. To open a User record, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  Users  tab. In the  Username / ID  column of the Users grid, click the name of the user.  For more information on the fields in a User record, see  User Records . Change an Agency User to a Seller User To modify a User record, you must have the   Create and Modify Users  permission. Agency users  can be changed to  Seller users , but Seller users cannot be changed to Agency users. To change the user type of a user from Agency to Seller, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  Users  tab. Open the User record. For  Type , select  Seller . Read the confirmation message and continue by clicking  Yes . Click  Save . Change a User's Email Address To modify a User record, you must have the   Create and Modify Users  permission. To change the email address of a user, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  Users  tab. Open the User record. On the  Global Settings  tab, for  Email , enter the new email address. By default, the email address of a user determines the username of the user: If you change a user's email address, the username of the user is automatically changed to the same value. To change a user's email address without changing their username, select the  Edit Username  checkbox before entering the new email address. Click  Save . Change a User's Username To modify a User record, you must have the   Create and Modify Users  permission. To change the username of a user, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  Users  tab. Open the User record. On the  Global Settings  tab, select the  Edit Username  checkbox. For  Username , enter the new username.  Changing the username of a user does  not  automatically change their email address as well. To change a user's email address, see  Change a User's Email Address . Click  Save . Deactivate or Reactivate a User To modify a User record, you must have the   Create and Modify Users  permission. Deactivate a User record by changing its valid-to date to a date in the past, and reactivate a User record by changing its valid-to date to a date in the future. Deactivate a User To deactivate a user, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  Users  tab. Open the User record. On the  Global Settings  tab, for  Valid To , select a date that is before today. Click  Save . Reactivate a User To reactivate a deactivated user, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  Users  tab.   By default, only active records are displayed. Remove filters and display all records by clicking  Clear All  in the Applied Filters bar. Open the User record. On the  Global Settings  tab, for  Valid To , do one of the following: Clear the date field. This will reactivate the user until the User record is manually deactivated again. Select a new valid-to date that is in the future. This will temporarily reactivate the user; the User record will be automatically deactivated after the selected valid-to date. Click  Save . Export User Records To export User records, you must have the  View User Management  permission. To export users as an Excel sheet, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  Users  tab. Click  Export . Reassign a User's User Role To modify a User record, you must have the   Create and Modify Users  permission. To reassign the user role of a user, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  Users  tab. Open the User record. On the  User Role  tab, for  Role , select the desired user role.  A read-only list of the selected user role's permissions are displayed. Click  Save . Reset Someone Else's Password There are two ways to reset someone else's password: Generate a new password for the user. Send a password reset email to the user, letting them choose their own new password. Generate a New Password To generate new passwords, you must have the  Generate Password  permission. To generate a new password for a user, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  Users  tab. Open the user record. At the bottom of the screen, click  Generate New Password . Read the warning message and continue by clicking  Yes . Copy the newly generated password and send it to the user. Send a Password Reset Email To send password reset emails, you must have the  Send Password Email  permission. To send a password reset email for a user, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  Users  tab. In the Users grid, select the desired user by clicking the checkbox in their User record row. You can select multiple users at once. At the bottom of the screen, click  Send Password Email . Reset Your Own Password There are two ways to reset your own password: Through the top navigation menu Through your User record To reset your password through the top navigation menu, do the following: In the top navigation menu, click the user profile icon. Click  Reset Password . Enter and confirm your new password. Click  Submit . To reset your password through your User record, do the following: Open your User record . In the  Login Information  section, click  Reset Password . Enter and confirm your new password. Click  Submit . Manage User Roles Open a User Role Record To open a User Role record, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  User Roles  tab. In the  Name / ID  column of the Users grid, click the name of the record.  For more information on the fields in a User Role record, see  User Role Records . Change the Permissions of a User Role To modify a User Role record, you must: Have  User Role Customization  enabled. Have the   Create and Modify User Roles  permission. To change the permissions of a user role, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  User Roles  tab. Open the User Role record. Change the permissions as desired. For a description of each permission, see   User Management . Click  Save Deactivate or Reactivate a User Role To modify a User Role record, you must: Have  User Role Customization  enabled. Have the   Create and Modify User Roles  permission. Deactivate a User Role To deactivate a user role, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  User Roles  tab. Open the User Role record. At the bottom of the screen, click  Deactivate . Reactivate a User Role To reactivate a deactivated user role, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  User Roles  tab. Open the User Role record. At the bottom of the screen, click  Activate . Rename a User Role To modify a User Role record, you must: Have  User Role Customization  enabled. Have the   Create and Modify User Roles  permission. To rename a user role, do the following: Go to the  Admin  >  User Management  >  User Roles  tab. Open the User Role record. For  Name , enter the new name of the user role. Click  Save .